2013 RITA ® Finalist

From the author of the The Boyfriend of the Month Club, A Girl Like You promises humor, entertainment, sympathetic characters and a heartwarming romance.

What if you found out you were the ugly friend?

Emma Frazier is smart, hardworking, and loves her job as a journalist for a Florida lifestyle magazine. Emma knows she’s no great beauty, but she’s pretty certain she has a shot with her handsome new boss, Ben Gallagher—until Emma overhears a mutual acquaintance refer to her as the “ugly friend.” In an effort to reclaim her battered self-esteem, Emma decides to impress Ben at work by promising an exclusive interview with NASCAR legend, Trip Monroe.

Emma and Trip went to high school together and although it’s been fourteen years since they’ve spoken, Emma is certain she can score an interview with the elusive super star. But connecting with Trip turns out to be harder than Emma imagined. Her quest for the interview leads her back to her tiny hometown of Catfish Cove, where old secrets and a new romantic interest shake up Emma’s views on life and teach her that maybe the key to finding true love is as simple as accepting yourself for the person you were always meant to be.

August, 2012
From Berkley, Penguin, USA

READ EXCERPT
Order: Amazon | B&N | Indiebound


PRAISE

“Maria Geraci writes with a vibrant, rich, contemporary voice that manages to be tender and hilarious at the same time.  A Girl Like You delivers the goods:  unforgettable characters set in a quirky small town with a feel-good ending that lasts long after you close the book.” Roxanne St. Claire, New York Times Bestselling Author

“A lovely story starring a heroine who could be any one of us. An unexpected delight!” Carly Phillips, New York Times bestselling author

Will appeal to fans of Katie Fforde and Mary Kay Andrews.  –Library Journal

Maria Geraci’s back with another smart and funny novel, A Girl Like You. With a heroine who we can all relate to, Geraci’s latest is the perfect book to round out your summer must-read list.  She Knows. Com

It’s a sweet, happy-go-lucky piece that was a pleasure to read and had me grinning from beginning to end. I definitely recommend it, especially if you want a feel-good chick lit novel to chill with during these hot summer days (or any other time of the year). –Chick Lit Central, The Blog

A Girl Like You is a quick, fun read with the most important elements for a girl like me; excellent character development and humor. You know those little moments you catalog in your brain but don’t articulate the moment? Geraci does it and it’s fun to see.  A Musing Reviews

Geraci’s latest is a great, easy breezy summer read that will keep you captivated until the end.  4 StarsRT Book Reviews

 This is one for your to-read list! My favorite part about this book was the way that there was no clear-cut guy (at least in my opinion) for Emma. I kept changing my mind on who she was going to end up with, and without giving his identity away, I’ll say it surprised me! That went for a lot of the book – just when I thought the plot would go one way, it twisted another. Love these types of books! Emma was a great lead, full of questions and concerns and had a very relatable attitude about life, career, and love, and this was a delightful chick lit read all around.   Chick Lit Plus

Romance, chick lit, women’s fiction… No matter what you call A Girl Like You, one thing is for certain—it will surely please! I highly recommend it! 5 Stars, The Romance Dish

I really loved everything about A Girl Like You: the main character, and all the secondary characters (each unique and really special to the story,) the small town setting (I love small towns!) and the romance aspect. I couldn’t put this book down once I started it and I definitely recommend to others who love contemporary romance. This is one you won’t want to miss! 5 Stars, Oodles of Books

I took this book to the beach with me and it was just perfect.   Dew on the Kudzu, Celebrating the Southern Written Word

This is a cute workplace comedy story of a plucky, young writer who finds romance when she least expects it. Emma’s friends also experience ups and downs in the love department, and Emma is the ultimate sweet, highly relatable character.  Parkersburg News and Sentinel

 Geraci’s characters are well-rounded, intelligent people who happen to be in their early thirties still looking for answers…  A Girl Like You is an intelligent, warm, funny novel.  Lesa’s Book Critiques

The best message Maria Geraci  provides in A Girl Like You is that beauty, money, and fame don’t bring happiness; only happiness with yourself can bring the confidence you need to navigate the transitions in your life. Through this process, Emma does find someone to love, and someone to love her… In the last place she thought to look. Book End Babes

I loved reading A Girl Like You by Maria Geraci. The novel was sweet, fun, and heart warming… I didn’t want to put it down!  Books, Etc.

Comments are closed.